Many congratulations to the Irish cricket team who have qualified for the World Twenty20 to be held in Sri Lanka in September. The Irish team beat Canada, Netherlands, Namibia and Afghanistan - all in three days of the final qualifiers. This earns them a place in Group B with Australia and the West Indies. Afghanistan will join India and defending champions England in Group A.

The 2012 ICC World Twenty20 will be the fourth ICC World Twenty 20 competition, an international Twenty20 cricket tournament that will be held in Sri Lanka between September 18 and October 7, 2012. This will be the first World Twenty20 tournament held in an Asian country, the last three being held in South Africa, England and the West Indies respectively. The format will see four groups of three in a preliminary round. Sri Lanka, South Africa and Zimbabwe, and Pakistan, New Zealand and Bangladesh are the other two groups.[3]

For further details and schedule: